How many peppers did peter piper?

According to the nursery rhyme, Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers. A peck is a unit of measurement of dry volume. One peck is equal to 8 dry quarts or 16 dry pints, so Peter picked 8 quarts of peppers.