How did ant man get his powers?

How did ant man get his powers? Using a gaseous form of "Pym particles" kept in a compartment in his belt, Ant-Man initially had the power to shrink himself (other people/objects along with himself) to the size of an ant and return to normal. He has acquired the ability to change size at will.