What is the difference between a brown bear and a grizzly bear?

Grizzly bears and brown bears are the same species (Ursus arctos), but grizzly bears are considered to be a separate subspecies. Brown bears live in coastal areas, while inland bears that have limited or no access to marine-derived food resources are often smaller and called grizzlies.