Why is the magic eight ball called the magic eight ball?

It is called a Magic Eight Ball because it is designed to look like the black eight-ball in a pool game and it looks like it is magically answering your questions. In reality, of course, it is not magic at all. All the answers are written out ahead of time & pop up randomly inside the ball.