What breed is a black cat?

A black cat is a domestic cat with black fur that may be a mixed or specific breed, or a common domestic cat of no particular breed. The Bombay cat breed is exclusively black.

---

A black cat is a domestic cat with black fur that may be a mixed or specific breed, or a common domestic cat of no particular breed. The Cat Fanciers' Association recognizes 22 cat breeds that can come with solid black coats. The Bombay breed is exclusively black.