What's the movie forrest gump about?

According to Wikipedia, Forest Gump (1994) The story depicts several decades in the life of Forrest Gump (Portrayed by Tom Hanks), a slow-witted but kindhearted man from Alabama, who witnesses and unwittingly influences several defining historical events in the 20th-century United States.