What's the difference between oatmeal and porridge?

Oatmeal is a type of porridge, and the two words are often used thought to be the same, but not all porridge is made from oats. Porridge, sometimes called hot cereal, can be made from a variety of grains, vegetables, or even beans that are cooked in water or milk until it has a thick consistency.