How popular is splatoon?

By June 2020, the game Splatoon had sold 10.71 million copies worldwide, making it the ninth best-selling Switch game worldwide. As of June 2021, ''Splatoon 2'' had sold over 12.45 million copies worldwide, selling twice as much as its predecessor, and making it one of the best-selling Switch games.