What year did the wright brothers invent the airplane?

The Wright Brothers made the first controlled, sustained flight of a powered, heavier-than-air aircraft with the Wright Flyer on December 17, 1903. In 1904–05, the brothers developed their flying machine into the first practical fixed-wing aircraft, the Wright Flyer III.