What is the extreme football league?

The XFL is a planned professional American football league owned by Vince McMahon's Alpha Entertainment, and is headquartered in Stamford, Connecticut. It is a successor to the original XFL, which was controlled by the World Wrestling Federation and NBC, and ran for a single season in 2001