What's a base instrument?

A bass instrument typically plays musical notes in the range of E1 to G4 [40 hz to 392 hz]. String bass examples are electric bass & acoustic upright bass. Wind instruments include the tuba, bassoon, bass clarinet, bass trombone and bass saxophone. Standard tuning for a bass guitar is E1, A1, D2, G2