What is a sled?

A sled is a vehicle, typically on runners, for transporting goods or passengers over snow or ice, either pushed or pulled, or drawn by horses, dogs, or a motor vehicle. They are also used in the winter for recreation, generally sledding downhill with one or more passengers sitting on top.