What happens when a human gets rabies?

After an incubation period, the first sign of rabies is often irritaion near the bite area and flu like symptoms. Then neurological symptoms begin, including seizures, paralysis, and confusion. Once rabies symptoms begin, there is no known cure and it is almost always fatal.