What happens when a human gets rabies?

Aggressive treatment is given to a person with suspected exposure to rabies, before they get the disease, by immediate vaccination, administration of rabies immunoglobulin, and local treatment of the wound. Rabies is fatal; there are only a few cases of recovery once a person gets encephalitis.