What's the definition of controversial?

Controversy is a state of prolonged public dispute or debate, usually concerning a matter of conflicting opinion or point of view. The word was coined from the Latin controversia, as a composite of controversus – "turned in an opposite direction".

---

The word "controversial" means giving rise or likely to give rise to public disagreement.