What is i m. s. service?

The United States Immigration and Naturalization Service or INS was an agency of the U.S DOJ from 1940 to 2003, when its functions were transferred to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), and U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP).