How does a food become kosher?

For meat it has to be a kosher animal which is determined by rules listed in the Bible and it has to be killed in a kosher manner. Fish must have fins and scales. Dairy must come from a kosher animal. Dairy and meat cannot be cooked together and the cooking should be watched over by a supervisor.