What can cause vertigo?

An inner ear infection can cause vertigo (dizziness). Hypostatic blood pressure (blood pressure dropping when raising head and or body quickly, ex. bending over, standing quickly, even pivoting too quickly can cause vertigo). Many medications can also be a culprit.