How many cups of confectionery sugar equals one pound?

The answer to how many cups are in one pound of powdered sugar will vary depending on if your powdered sugar is sifted or unsifted. In general: 1 pound equals 3 and a half to 4 cups unsifted powdered sugar.

---

Depending on a number of factors, particularly whether or not the sugar is sifted, one pound of confectioner's sugar should yield about 3.5-4 cups.