What temperature should you cook steak at?

An ideal grilling temperature for steak is 400 °F. At 2 minutes and 30 seconds per side it should be rare. Medium rare at 3 minutes and 30 seconds per side. Medium at 4 minutes and 30 seconds per side. Well done at 5 minutes and 30 seconds per side.