How long should you boil eggs?

A soft boiled egg typically takes 3 minutes. A hard boiled egg can take 9 minutes. This assumes a large chicken egg. For smaller chicken or quail eggs, times should be reduced. Duck eggs should be cooked 1 minute more than a chicken egg of the same size. Steaming eggs often produces better results.