Why do cats click?

Jaw clicking typically occurs when a cat spies a prey such as a bug, bird or squirrel. Certain pet behaviorists believe that the cat associates the desired prey item so closely with the movements her jaw makes during the kill that she's priming the muscles, thus producing the jaw clicking noise.