What type of bird is big bird?

When Big Bird visited the Neighborhood of Make-Believe on the show, he told the character X the Owl he was a golden condor, a fictional bird species. Later in the episode, the character King Friday XIII asks Big Bird if he's related to the cassowary. Big Bird tells the king he's more like a condor.