Why does cat jump on shoulders?

No one knows for sure why some cats jump on shoulders. It is theorized that they do so because they like and want to be close to the person they jumped on. For example, my Norwegian Forest Cat used to surprise me and jump from the ground up to my shoulder, but he never did it 4 anyone else but me.