What is a crab fish?

crabfish (plural crabfish or crabfishes) (archaic) A freshwater crab found in Southern European rivers, streams, and lakes, Potamon fluviatile or Cancer fluviatilis. quotations ▼ (archaic) A lobster or crayfish.