What's a fruit or vegetable?

Fruits and vegetables are classified by which part of the plant they come from. A fruit comes from the flower of a plant, while the other parts of the plant are categorized as vegetables. Fruits contain seeds, like an watermelon. While vegetables can consist of roots, stems and leaves; like a carrot