Why do orchid leaves turn yellow?

The leaves of a Phalaenopsis orchid can burn and turn yellow if they are exposed to direct sunlight. Try putting your orchid in a place that receives sufficient indirect sunlight. Overwatering can lead to root rot, which can, in turn, cause its leaves to turn yellow.