Why do orchid leaves turn yellow?

Orchid leaves turn yellow for a number of reasons. Some orchids, such as the most common household orchid, phalaenopsis periodically shed their oldest leaves to focus energy on new growths. If the orchid looks healthy otherwise and only the bottom leaf or two is yellowing you may not need to worry.

---

The leaves of a Phalaenopsis orchid can burn and turn yellow if they are exposed to direct sunlight. Try putting your orchid in a place that receives sufficient indirect sunlight. Overwatering can lead to root rot, which can, in turn, cause its leaves to turn yellow.