Why is it called hamburger?

Sailors arrived in Hamburg, Germany with ground beef they received in a trade with Russian soldiers, around the 1840s. Someone took that beef and created a cooked Hamburg Steak, served with a gravy. It was the United States that put it on a roll, with toppings, calling it the Hamburger.