What is the origin of shepherd's pie?

In early cookery books, the dish was a means of using leftover roasted meat of any kind, and the pie dish was lined on the sides and bottom with mashed potato, as well as having a mashed potato crust on top. It comes from the United Kingdom, and it's believed to have appeared in the 18th century