How long do you cook a roast in the crock pot?

A four pound pot roast will take approximately 8 hours on low in a crock pot. Season with salt and pepper and sear on all sides until browned for approximately 6 minutes each side. Place in a 6 quart crock pot adding in any other ingredients.