How long should you let wine breathe?

Some believe pulling the cork to let the wine breathe for a few hours is a good practice. In fact, the surface area exposed is too small to make a perceptible difference. A much better method of aeration, is to decant the wine, i.e., exposing the wine to air by pouring it into a glass vessel.