What is the chemical composition of steel?

Primarily, steel is made from Fe and C. The addition of different compounds have been found to alter the properties of steel so that it may become better suited for a variety of applications. Besides Fe and C, steel may also contain Cr, Mn, Ni, Mo, B, Ti, V, W, Co, Nb, P, S, Si, O, N, and Cu.