What are the tronics made out of?

The transmission's casing is made of magnesium alloy, a first for the industry, to save weight. The 7G-Tronic transmission is built at the Mercedes-Benz Stuttgart-Untertuerkheim plant in Germany, the site of Daimler-Benz's original production facility.