What is dark energy in astrophysics?

Dark energy is a misterious energy associated with space itself, and that makes the universe expand faster and faster

---

Dark energy is a mysterious theoretical force that counteracts gravity and causes the universe to expand at an accelerating rate over time. The acceleration becomes infinitely fast, tearing galaxies, atoms and the fabric of space-time itself apart over time leading to a scenario called the Big Rip.