What is the difference between bratwurst and italian sausage?

Italian sausage most often refers to a style of pork sausage. The sausage is often noted for being seasoned with fennel as the primary seasoning. Bratwurst, Also referred to as “brat”, the German sausage is generally made with pork and veal, but beef can also be used.