What's the difference between a river and a lake?

The main difference that can be seen between rivers and lakes, is water movement. If you observe a river, it basically moves or runs along its banks. Lakes are usually enclosed by land. Unlike ponds, these bodies of water have to be of a significant size for it to be considered as a lake.