Can eggs have salmonella?

The inside of eggs that appear normal can contain a germ called Salmonella that can make you sick, but eggs are safe when you cook and handle them properly. Poultry may carry bacteria such as Salmonella, which can contaminate the inside of eggs before the shells are formed.