What year did hawaii become part of the united states?

Hawaii was the 50th state admitted to the United States on August 21, 1959.

---

Hawaii became the 50th state in 1959 but had ceded itself to the USA in 1898.

---

Hawaii ceded itself to the USA in 1898 and became a state in 1959.