Is there such a thing as a one thousand dollar bill?

Yes, the U.S. 1000 dollar bill, was last printed in 1945, with a series date of 1934 printed on the bill. They were last issued out to banks in 1969. They do remain legal tender. Any that find their way back to the Federal Reserve, are destroyed and replaced with current smaller bills.