How many oceans are in the world?

While there is only one global ocean, the vast body of water that covers 71 percent of the Earth, historically, there are 4 named ocean basins: the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, and Arctic. However, most countries - including the US - now recognize the Southern (Antarctic) as the fifth ocean basin.

---

While there is only one global ocean, it is divided into 5 distinct regions which are the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the Southern Ocean, and the Arctic Ocean.