Why is there so much plastic in the ocean?

Human pollution causes the influx of ocean plastics. Microplastics are common in the ocean since plastic itself cannot disintegrate. Instead, those plastics float through the ocean largely undetected. Other plastics float in gyres in the middle of the ocean.