What is a. r. stand for in guns?

A.R. in terms of the rifle such as the AR15 means Armalite Rifle, after its original manufacturer, Armalite incorporated. It does not mean "assault rifle".

---

An “R” in guns typically stands for “rifle”. For example, the “A R” in AR-15, stands for “ArmaLite Rifle.”