Was martin luther king's mother assassinated?

Alberta King was shot and killed on June 30, 1974, at age 69 by Marcus Wayne Chenault, a 23-year-old black man from Ohio, who fired two handguns into her as she sat at the organ of the Ebenezer Baptist Church.