How do you get a cat to use the litter box?

Cats will naturally want to use a litterbox. For kittens, repeatedly show them where the litterbox is located by putting them into the box. You may also hold the kitten and make a digging motion in the litter with their paw. For an adult cat who already uses a litterbox, just show them where it is.