How can you tell if yeast is still good?

Proof your yeast to find out if it's still active by adding 1 teaspoon of sugar and 2.25 teaspoons of yeast (one packet) to 0.25 cup of warm water. Then, wait 10 minutes. If the mixture bubbles and develops a yeasty aroma, the yeast is still good.