What's the definition of parabellum?

In Latin it means, "prepare for war". In english it is a type of semiautomatic pistol or machine gun.

---

The two most common meanings for parabellum, depends on if you are referring to the Latin phrase "Si vis pacem, para bellum, meaning "If you want peace, prepare for war" or the second meaning which refers to a proprietary name for a type of automatic firearm built in 1904.