Are bagpipes irish or scottish?

Both Irish and Scottish. Thought to be Middle Eastern in origin, dating back as far as 4000 BC, The Scottish bagpipes were developed between 1500's and 1800's and the Irish in 1581. The Irish bagpipes play more than two complete chromatic octaves while the Scottish bagpipes play only one octave.