Why is the johnny depp trial in fairfax virginia?

The trial is taking place at Fairfax County Courthouse in Virginia. This is because The Washington Post, the paper in which Heard wrote the article Depp claims defamed him, is published in Fairfax County. Fairfax County is in the suburbs of Washington DC, and is the most populous part of Virginia