How is conjunctivitis spread?

How does conjunctivitis spread? Conjunctivitis is most often spread through direct contact with the eye by hands or objects that are contaminated with the virus or bacteria. It can also spread via respiratory tract droplets. Allergic conjunctivitis is not contagious.