What is g. i. d. p. mean in baseball?

G.I.D.P. stands for Ground Into Double Play. A G.I.D.P. occurs when a player hits a ground ball that results in multiple outs on the bases. The most common double plays are ground balls where a forceout is made on the runner from first to second base, then another forceout is made on the batter.