How do you solve a rubik's cube step by step?

Stand in one place with a rubics cube along with directions to solve the puzzle. Then take one step forward, backwards, or to the side and proceed to follow the directions. Another way is to twist a solved cube by one turn, and then reverse this turn to the original position.